Hawks prepare for JLT clash

Published on 09 March 2018

Hawthorn FC flag

Hawthorn will welcome back key defender James Frawley for its JLT match against Carlton at University of Tasmania Stadium in Launceston on Saturday night.

Frawley missed a number of games at the end of the 2017 season due to a toe injury.

But the premiership player will line up against Carlton on Saturday night after returning to full fitness over the off-season.

Frawley is one of two inclusions into the Hawks 26-man squad for the pre-season match, alongside Conor Glass, from the game against the Western Bulldogs last week.

Vice-captain Liam Shiels will travel with the squad but will only make an appearance for the club's Community Camp after he 'pulled up sore' after mid-week training.

The Hawks named a relatively strong squad for the Blues clash, with a number of key senior players listed, including James Sicily, Brendan Whitecross, Isaac Smith, Luke Breust, Jarryd Roughead, Ryan Shoenmakers, Paul Puopolo, Jack Gunston, Tom Mitchell, Jaeger O'Mearer, Shaun Burgoyne, Taylor Duryea and key recruit Jarman Impey all named in the starting line-up.

Carlton, meanwhile, made one change to its team for the Hawks clash with defender Cameron O'Shea coming in for Jarrod Garlett, who injured his shoulder against St Kilda.

Jacob Weitering and Sam Petrevski-Seton, who were late omissions in the club’s first JLT hit out, have also been named.

Like their counterparts, the Blues have named a strong line-up for the match, including key players Kade Simpson, Marc Murphy, Patrick Cripps, Jack Silvagni, Charlie Curnow, Levi Casboult, Mattew Krezuer, Ed Curnow and Dale Thomas.

It will be yet another home-coming for former North Launceston star and Blues coach Brendon Bolton.

The Blues will hold an open training session at UTAS Stadium on Friday night at 6.45pm, while the Hawks will train from 4pm.

VFL teams Box Hill Hawks and the Northern Blues will play the curtain-raisier from 4pm.

The main match kicks off at 7.05pm on Saturday night.

Tickets for the game are available at the Ticketmaster website, www.ticketmaster.com.au or phone 136 100.


B: Blake Hardwick, James Frawley, Ben Stratton
HB: Ryan Burton, Tim O’Brien, James Sicily
C: Isaac Smith, Brendan Whitecross, Ricky Henderson
HF: Luke Breust, Ryan Schoenmakers, Jarman Impey
F: Jack Gunston, Jarryd Roughead, Paul Puopolo
R: Ben McEvoy, Tom Mitchell, Jaeger O’Meara
Inter: Taylor Duryea, Shaun Burgoyne, Daniel Howe, Harry Morrirson, James Cousins, Marc Pittonet, Conor Glass, Oliver Hanrahan
Emergencies: Conor Nash, Teia Miles, James Worpel, Dallas Willsmore.

In: Frawley, Glass
Out: Shiels, Mirra

B: Ciaran Byrne, Liam Jones, Caleb Marchbank
HB: Kade Simpson, Jacob Weitering, Lachie Plowman
C: Marc Murphy (C), Patrick Cripps, Jarrod Pickett
HF: Jack Silvagni, Charlie Curnow, Paddy Dow
F: Matthew Wright, Levi Casboult, Zac Fisher
Foll: Matthew Kreuzer, Ed Curnow, Matthew Kennedy
Inter: Aaron Mullett, David Cuningham, Jed Lamb, Harry McKay, Lochie O'Brien, Cameron O'Shea,  Dale Thomas, Sam Petrevski-Seton              
Emergencies: Matthew Lobbe, Kym Lebois, Cameron Polson, Sam Kerridge