Local Government Elections

Amendments to the Local Government Act 1993 mean that voting in local government elections is now compulsory for all electors on the State roll.  Councils have a significant impact on the lives of all Tasmanians, enabling the economic, social and cultural development of the community, supporting individuals and groups, and providing a wide range of services for the well-being of the community.

Councillors play a vital leadership role, working together to create and implement their community’s vision. Mayors, Deputy Mayors and Councillors are all elected for four-year terms.  Mayors and Deputy Mayors are popularly elected. Every four (4) years, residents and ratepayers in Launceston elect councillors to represent their municipal area. 

General Manager's Electoral Roll eligibility

You may be eligible for the General Manager's Electoral Roll if:

  • you are a resident in the Launceston municipality, but not eligible for the State electoral roll; or
  • you own or occupy land in Launceston, but do not live in Launceston; or
  • you are the nominated representative of a corporate body, which owns or occupies land in Launceston.

A voter, in an election in respect of one municipal area, has a maximum of two votes:

  • one vote is in their own right; and
  • one vote on behalf of a corporate body

Enrol for the General Manager's Electoral Roll

Please complete the relevant form:

General Manager's Roll - Enrolment Form (non-resident)

General Manager's Roll - Enrolment Form (corporation nominee)


To submit your form you can either

Deliver your relevant form to the City of Launceston Customer Service Centre, Town Hall

Mail your relevant form to the Chief Executive Officer, City of Launceston, PO Box 396, Launceston TAS 7250.

Email your relevant form to contactus@launceston.tas.gov.au