Homelessness committee representatives endorsed

Published on 28 July 2022

The City of Launceston has unanimously endorsed the selection of Councillor and community representatives on its inaugural Homelessness Advisory Committee.

Councillors Andrea Dawkins and Krista Preece were elected by the Council at today's ordinary meeting following a ballot.

The six community representatives - Stephen Avery, Lynette Cameron, Allison Mayne, Darren McKay, Philip Redmond and Kate Ross - were determined through an assessment process and will sit on the committee for two years.

The Council also amended its original terms of reference for the committee to include several changes - which included increasing the number of community representatives from four to six, and to include CatholicCare Tasmania to the list of local agencies on the committee given its participation in outreach work with the homeless community and its role within the Housing Connect network.

CatholicCare will be joined by Launceston City Mission, St Vincent de Paul Society, Anglicare Tasmania, Tasmania Police, the Salvation Army, Shekinah House and the Department of Communities Tasmania.

Launceston Mayor Albert van Zetten said the advisory committee will provide an intrinsic link between the Council and key stakeholders, and to provide advice and recommendations to the organisation on issues and matters relating to homelessness.

"It is also important that this committee can help facilitate the development of a Homelessness Action Plan, which will guide our commitment to addressing the needs of Launceston's homeless community," Mayor van Zetten said.

The committee will also include a representative from West Tamar Council with support from the City of Launceston's General Manager Community and Place, Team Leader of Community Development and a Council administrator officer.

Tagged as: