Princes Square

One of Launceston's most picturesque parks, Princes Square was established in 1858 on the site of a disused clay brickfield.

Once known as St Johns Square, the park was renamed following the 1868 visit to Launceston by His Royal Highness Prince Alfred, the Duke of Edinburgh.

Today, the park is a popular lunchtime hub for CBD workers, with its mature oak trees, bench seating and meandering pathways. It's home to the iconic Val d'Osne Fountain, a tourist drawcard, as well as a statue of Launceston medical pioneer Dr William Russ Pugh.




Elizabeth Street, Launceston 7250  View Map

Google Map