Local Government Elections

Councils have a significant impact on the lives of all Tasmanians, enabling the economic, social and cultural development of the community, supporting individuals and groups, and providing a wide range of services for the well-being of the community.

Councillors play a vital leadership role, working together to create and implement their community’s vision. Mayors, Deputy Mayors and Councillors are all elected for four-year terms.  Mayors and Deputy Mayors are popularly elected. Every four (4) years, residents and ratepayers in Launceston elect councillors to represent their municipal area.